rising university fees and scarce employment prospect for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that getting employed these days is more difficult for new graduates. Because of that, some people suggest that certain courses such as art, philosophy and history should be cancelled from higher education schools and to implement only practical subjects in order to raise the possibility of employment and overcome the increase in university tuition fees. I totally disagree with that opinion. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind my views. First of all, people have different interests in life. That is, some might like art and others might love math, which what keeps diversity alive in our society and closing those courses does not sound fair. For example, many famous philosophies and artists actually went into official courses in the university rather than self learning through practice only. Hence, keeping such classes available is crucial for certain people. Second of all, cancelling these subjects will cause more harm than good. To illustrate, all current employees and teachers in those departments will be out of their jobs if those courses were removed. In other words, wanting to increase the employment of new graduates cannot be dealt with by releasing all the current employees from their careers and passion. To sum up, stopping art, history and philosophy classes in order to increase the chance of employment does not sound right because it strips the community from diversity and does not appreciate the peoples' differences, as well as it causes de-employment of a group of people.