Culture and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it?

Nowadays, habits and customs are changing from our ancestors to the current population. The leading causes include society becoming globalized as well as a lack of interest from youth to preserve their ancestry. Despite the fact that rituals and right are changing, there are several solutions to this catastrophe, namely, increasing family time and additional educational programs at schools, enlightening the future generations about their descendant practices, and vibrant culture. Society is modernizing, and manners and legacy phased out. Firstly, our modern world allows a greater exchange of ideas and new ways to observe socially acceptable trends. For instance, in the past, it was considered rude to phone someone past late hours at night, nevertheless, nowadays, telecommunication devices and cell phone devices with chat mode allows any individual to text someone past their bedtime. Another reason why our cultures and traditions are changing is a lack of desire to pass on the education received by our rich history. For example, at school, students are not being instructed about their social and history in order to keep one’s traditions alive. Thus, the culprit for the watering down of custom is globalization and lack of interest from the school syllabus. Consequently, family time and a syllabus filled with values, education, arts, legacy, traditions, and manners are essential to bring back into practice and preserve our social dilemma. In particular, parents can be ambassadors to their children, teaching them about one’s country’s cultural tradition and keeping alive the beautiful art that characterizes our uniqueness as a nation. Indeed, in Venezuela, many families are currently teaching their children how to play their national instrument as a method for bringing back the lost culture. Furthermore, schools can implement guided art galleries and shows to maintain the spirit of the older generation practices alive. In conclusion, although, the progressive decline of ancestry among current society is primarily due to globalization and loss of interest this can be mitigated by spending more time as a familiar nucleus sharing and learning from older vocational practices as well as expanding the school curriculum to create awareness that will foster a love and passion for culture.