In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

The employment rate of a country determines its actual economic development. It is believed that for a highly qualified student, getting employed is not a problem. However, nowadays there are many highly qualified graduates without a job. There could be more than one factor that leads to this problem and this essay will discuss them in brief. Firstly, the main reason for unemployment is the lack of skills. Even though the students are highly qualified, but if they lack the practical aspect, they will not get a job. For example, In India, there are many colleges which only focus on the theoretical aspect of a course. The students do well in theory, but they are not able to implement the same in real life scenarios. The education system should be improved and the government should make the study of the practical aspects of a course mandatory. Secondly, In India, due to the reservation system, many qualified candidate fail to get employment. The reservation system was introduced to help the poor living below the poverty line. It divides the people by their caste and provide advantages to lower caste people. For instance, the cut off marks for an examination, for a general category student is 100 whereas it is 40 for a student who belongs to a lower caste. According to me, employment should not be based on caste, it should be based on the person's capabilities instead. In conclusion, there are many factors due to which many highly qualified graduates are unable to find a job. The government should improve the education as well as the employment system so that those who deserve can be employed and live a happy life.