In the past, most people spent their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

Changing job and location is a popular trend currently. Previously, people used to spend whole life doing work at the same organization. Firstly, this essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend, and later provide an opinion. There are many advantages of changing jobs, among which the most obvious one is exposed to different experiences. If an individual remains in a same place doing routine job, he is less likely to learn new things in his lifespan. A study, For instance, conducted by IBM university found that 60% of people who move to new working environments have a high intellectual level than those who do not. Moreover, changing premises will allow an individual to do tasks with interest, meaning that repetitive and menial work tends to become boring in a long run; at some point humans lose the interest to carry out the same tasks again and again. Turning to the drawbacks, a different environment will result in culture shock. To elaborate, though a person is intelligent, he may face difficulty to adapt to new working conditions. In addition to that, developing a professional network all over again would become a major task. Also, building everything from scratch like socializing with people from different cultures and setting up house, would be difficult if an individual is moving to a foreign country altogether. Having discussed both the viewpoints, I believe that people should be encouraged to challenge themselves, and take up different career choices. Though people will face difficulties to adapt, it is more likely that these challenges will be a positive one, as it will result in growth. This is true in my case, until I was 25, I was comfortable in my teaching job, but later when I have explored Canada, having an employment opportunity and life in another part of the world has moulded by personality into a better individual. In conclusion, spending whole life under same employment conditions would ensure comfort, but this has a disadvantage of less growth. Although new employment initially causes stress and difficulties, it will not only allow a person to perform tasks with interest, but also enables him to become more knowledgeable since he is exposed to different e.