Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There are lots of measures to address traffic and pollution problems. One of them, which is considered to be the ultimate way to solve is making fossil fuel prices more expensive. But, there is a drawback which is the effect on the increasing prices of other goods and products, too. Also, this isn’t seen to be a success. So, one alternative solution is a huge investment in renewable energy and electric vehicles. Effects of increased fuel price can be varied, but the increases of other goods are easily seen anywhere, from markets, supermarkets and even online shopping websites. For example, plastics that we use everyday are made of oil, some made of recycled plastics, and heat is used to make all of these things. If the fuel price is more expensive, the upkeep cost, too. Another reason is transportation costs, from ships, trucks and cargo planes. All of our goods need to be transferred from factories to supermarkets. And these transportation costs are always included in our price tags. Since most of our transporters still use petrol as their main fuel in order to run the whole process. Increasing the petrol price will definitely affect these businesses and, of course, our money spent on goods. One way to solve traffic and especially pollution without causing any consequences is investing our taxpayers’ money on green energy and electric cars. These can provide choices to transportation businesses such as, electric-driven trucks and even cargo drones run solely on solar power. And to make electric vehicles running without causing any smog is putting lots of money and effort in solar farms, windmills and dams. As these methods of electricity production cause no harm to our environment. In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol isn’t a magic cure to curb traffic and pollution, it has a big consequence which is the effect on goods’ prices. Investments in clean energy and electricity is an alternative way along with electric vehicles for the future of transport.