Most children want to wach the same TV program and play the same computer games like their friends. Should parents allow them to do like this?

Some kids desire to watch television programs and play video games same as their friends. This essay agrees that parents should not give permission to their children to behave like this. This essay will first, outline that some TV programs portrait abusive language and obscene scenes which are not suitable for kids and further, discuss that if children will spend most of their time on TV and computers their studies will be affected. It is clear that the young child's mind is very delicate, whatever will be taught to them at the younger age will have a long lasting effect on their personality and behaviour. This is to say, if parents will allow them to watch television programmes and play computer games same as their friends is risky for them as they contain vulgar words and pornographic scenes. If children will watch these scenes and listen to these words, they will use them in their day to day life when communicating with others. As a result, their overall personality development will be affected negatively. To elucidate, a recent study conducted by The Times showed that more than 80 percent of children who watch television programmes, or play online games same as their friends are more exposed to offensive language and objectionable scenes. Apart from this, if mothers and fathers will allow them to watch TV and play online games as their friends their academics will suffer. In other words, if children will spend a maximum of their time in playing games or sit in front of the idiot box they will not study and thus will not be able to core good marks in their exams. As a consequence, their future life and career will be affected badly. To exemplify, a recent study conducted by The New York Times showed that more than 60 percent of children do not perform better in schools because they spend a lot of time in seeing TV and playing games similar to their friends. To conclude, most children like to watch TV programmes and play games same as their friends, however, parents should not give them the permission because they will not only be exposed to bad language and vulgar scenes, but their studies will also be affected.