With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days the number of fast food chains is increasing rapidly. It is so because of their high demand in the public and many people consume these dishes every day. According to me, this trend, though, seems advantageous, but it has some disadvantages as well. To commence with, these outlets save people some time. These days the lives of the people has become very fast paced and they spend most of the time of the day in the office. Because of which, they are left with very little time for themselves and are often tired to cook. For instance, for most people, after spending a full day at work with a hectic schedule, it becomes difficult to cook meals for themselves and the kids. Hence, they opt for ready to eat or fast food. Moreover, kids easily get bored of the same type of food. There are restaurants bringing out different cuisines from around the world. This breaks the monotonous taste and provides a feeling of freshness to everyone. On the other hand, eating outside has many disadvantages. Most of the meals, served in eateries, do not have good nutritional value. They usually have very high contents of salt and sugar. This puts people at the risk of diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes etc. Furthermore, to keep the foodstuff from spoiling, lots of preservatives are added to them, thus, they are harmful for the health of people. For example, a small burger from McDonalds, containing high concentration of salt, provides 506 calories to the body, without filling the stomach. These calories are majorly coming from carbohydrates, whereas the fibre content is nearly zero. To conclude, in my opinion, fast food may have advantages and are outweighed by its disadvantages. However, having it a few times for a change of taste is fine, and the home cooked meal provides proper nutrition to the body.