Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, while the fossil fuels are the main sources of energy worldwide, some countries are promoting the use of non-conventional sources of energy which I believe is a positive development. In my essay, I would discuss the benefits of using the alternate sources over the conventional ones. Firstly, green energy sources are eco-friendly and limitless. Wind and solar energy are generated from air and sunshine, which are clean and everlasting sources of power. They also contribute to the environmental protection. In other words, global warming and air pollution are the result of overuse of conventional sources of energy, which are detrimental to the planet’s existence. For example, if governments insist on the generation of electricity from wind, global warming is mitigated with reduced emission of toxic gases into the atmosphere. In addition, embracing the renewable resources will boost the economy. Unlike, fossil fuels, which are unevenly distributed, almost all countries have the access to green energy sources in abundance. Many nations will be reducing their dependence on imported fuels and can produce cost-effective energy for their in-house consumption. For instance, if India promotes solar-powered automobiles, dependency on middle east to import high-priced oil and gas would be significantly reduced. Similarly, with these renewable sources being boundless, long-term jobs are generated in manufacturing, engineering and installation, abating the problem of unemployment considerably while contributing to the improvement of the nation’s economy. To conclude, it is a constructive step towards ecological well-being with some countries using renewable energy sources instead of fossil fuels. However, expertise associated with these eco-friendly energy technologies should be shared worldwide, so that, efforts are made at a global level.