Some people think that it would be better for larger companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that the shifting of the large companies and industries to regional areas away from large urban centres would be beneficial and in my view, this certainly has more advantages than disadvantages. This essay is going to focus on the benefits and drawbacks of this idea and support it with relevant examples. Firstly, one disadvantage of moving out the companies and factories could be the destruction of the forests. As most of the areas outside cities are covered with forests, securing land for these industries might require a clearing of the green cover. In addition, cutting down the forest can also displace the local communities causing a loss of local cultures. For example, in my city when a pharma factory had to relocate outside the city, they had to clear a large area covered by the forest, due to this a local tribe had to displace, which led to a severe backlash from the environmental enthusiasts. On the other hand, shifting of the companies and industries can help reduce pollution within the cities. This is important because cities accommodate a major proportion of the nation's population. Furthermore, the decrease in pollution can also improve the health standards of the people. For instance, when a factory believed to be responsible for water pollution in the neighbouring areas was relocated the water quality started to improve almost immediately and reduced the risk of deadly diseases like typhoid by almost 70%. This can result in an overall increase in the living conditions of people. In conclusion, the shifting of the industries to rural areas can improve the environment and health conditions in the cities. Even though it has a drawback of destroying forests and culture, in my view, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.