In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. Do the advantages of such method outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people claim that the increase in car ownerships tax and using this money to upgrade public transportation should be performed by governments. Although there are some negative aspects of this decision, there are compelling reasons as to why this is overall a desirable trend. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks to the increase in private car owners' tax. The main shortcoming is that citizens must spend money on car tax. This plays an important role as a factor contributing to decreasing the household budget. As a result, people suffer from stress-related problems because of the increase in financial pressure. Another disadvantage is that the reduction of business activities related to cars such as repairing cars and trading petroleum. This stems from the limit of using private vehicles by citizens. The salient, most examples of this that the amount of money from trading, petroleum drops to 20% in case the vehicle number declines to 10%. On the other hand, it seems to me that the taxing of heavily private ownerships is necessary because of some undeniable benefits. Firstly, it is an apparent fact that the increase in car tax makes citizens use public transports. It is vital for people to protect environments. This is caused by the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions such as CO2, CH4, and NO2 from private vehicles. According to the statistics of environmentalists, 30% of total emissions will reduce if 20% of the population uses public transports. Another advantage could be that the money from the private car tax car tax can use to improve traffic systems, including building roads and bridges. This makes it easier for citizens to travel. As a result, this also contributes to reducing traffic congestion during peak hours. In conclusion, there are some minus points for taxing of private vehicles. However, it seems to me that its advantage would be more important.