For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and Math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, in the technology era, it is an undeniable fact that computer literacy is ever-becoming vital. It is argued that besides the holy trinity of writing, reading, and maths, IT skills should be the fourth pillar in the education curriculum. I strongly agree with this point of view for several reasons, which will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, maths, reading and writing literacy are fundamentals to enrich one's knowledge and enhance logical and critical thinking. These disciplines are key contributors for one to obtain information and express opinions. To exemplify, when one applies for a job, especially journalism, he will be asked for a résumé demanding exceptional capacity of writing to be accepted. Hence, having a good level of understanding in compulsory disciplines is irrefutable. On the other hand, no question having a good grasp of computer skills offers students further opportunities in their career path. In the era of fast-paced technology development, a good understanding of computer technology is a requirement searched by any recruiters, hence should a candidate be well-prepared with good computer skills, the ratio of him being selected can increase. Additionally, training children with computing means providing them access to the world of unlimited knowledge. Their horizons can be broadened by participating in online courses and a variety of online materials. Furthermore, computer skills produce opportunities for students to widen their circle of networking. People all over the world now can instantly connect to others thanks to the cyberspace.