Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the recent years, traffic congestion is an aching problem of a variety of countries around the world. While some maintain that constructing more and wider road is an effective way to alleviate this problem, I feel that building trains and subway lines are a better measure. There are two justifiable reasons why constructing and expanding roads can bring about some merits. In the first place, this method can mitigate the volume of transportation. These days, with the explosion of population, there are a myriad of people using private transport such as cars or motorbikes in order to commute on the streets, which leads to the movement jams happening in lots of regions especially in big cities. Erecting wider road systems, therefore, can help to tackle this issue because it can diminish obstruction during rush hours. In the second place, this solution can save national budget. In some developing countries, building subway lines is not feasible on the grounds that these systems require a high initial investment and cost a great deal of money, so extending roads is cheaper and can save more money for governments. On the contrary, I am of the opinion that building train and metro lines is more effective to enhance the traffic situation. This approach will create some positive impacts on the environment and time. When it comes to the environment, when trains and subway lines are constructed, there will be less private transport as well as a public one on the streets. Accordingly, we can reduce the amount of carbon dioxide from cars, buses or motorbikes emitted into the atmosphere, which results in optimistic effects on the environment. In terms of time, trains and subways can move with a high-speed, so it can save more time for city dwellers because of the fact that they do not need to spend a lot of hours pacing back and forth to work when they use trains or underground lines. To sum up, building wider roads can have some advantages, but I believe that it is better when governments spend money constructing train and metro lines because it will brings more benefits compared to roads’ construction