Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The debate weather it is beneficial to primarily consume locally grown produce, as opposed to eating food coming from distant farms. Personally, I believe that there are numerous advantages of food transportation. In this essay, I shall outline the benefits and drawbacks of this view and provide supporting arguments and examples. On one hand, there are some clear positive effects of increased food transport. Firstly, it greatly benefits the economy by providing equal chances to sell their produce to those farmers that otherwise could not have reached a larger audience of customers. For example, according statistical data agricultural industry has seen a steep increase ever since food transport from remote locations have become possible. This is due to the fact that people now have a much larger variety of produce to consume, which in turns fuel higher demand and supply. Secondly, many types of vegetables and fruits are only grown in a specific location or country, which provide optimal temperature, environment and soil. Thus, making it out of reach for the people of other regions. On the other hand, consuming only locally grown food also provide with many advantages, as it promotes better market for the local farmers. In addition, it also helps in decreasing the environmental damage by limiting energy and fuel consumption from shipping vehicles. Furthermore, it could prove beneficial for the economy of some countries as it will reduce the importation cost and encourage the local market growth. In conclusion, from the given arguments and examples it is fair to say that although both views hold strong ground, the advantages of food transport are more than the disadvantages. Moreover, Its benefits for agricultural industry are undeniable. In future, if this market is promoted further, it could turn out to play a major role in our world's economy.