Some parents are worried about that the increasing level of violence in TV, video games, and other types of entertainment for children’s leisure. How does this affect children? How do you think problem can be tackled?

Many parents today are concerned with the trend that more and more violent materials are being used in teenager’s recreation. I think such trend may depress our children and may ruin their life, while there are still some actions can be taken by parents and government to solve them. Firstly, students with higher exposure to violence tend to suffer more from the depression. Students at a young age may still find hard to witness the violence since they may cause children paranoid and anxious; eventually they become an introvert and suffer the mental pain on their own. Secondly, such trend may increase crime rates among the youth. Students at a young age may easily incited by the violent images and may mocking the actors and committing crimes like drug dealing, kidnapping, and assault in their future. However, there are still some solutions to this and one of them is asking parents to spend more time with their children. By doing so, parents can find their children’s issue earlier and take them to receive professional treatments from doctors so that children are more likely and faster to recover from depression. The other method is to strengthen regulations on all types of entertainments by government, which means a more specific grading of movies or games should be implemented. Such solution may lower the exposure to teenagers as every movie from now on will be graded as whether or not suitable for children under 19 and movie theatres will be financially penalized for showing a movie which is not supposed shown to teenagers. In conclusion, violent materials may make children today more aggressive and may potentially destroy their life, but parents and the government still can prevent this from happening.