Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that university education is crucial for the development of society. However, while some believe that this education should be geared exclusively towards the fields that will be of practical use in the future, I agree with those who argue that one's choice of the subjects should be left to the students. Firstly, it is important to have professionals in the fields of technology and science for society to progress. This is because if we didn't have these experts, then we would have not had the infrastructure that drives the modern lifestyle. For example, aeroplanes which help in reducing the long-distance travels require an engineer to create and maintain them. The argument goes that, if the students are allowed to choose their subjects, then there might be a shortage of these workers. However, I believe that the students should be allowed to consider the fields they are passionate about. The reason for this is it is shown by research that those who follow their interests tend to work hard and excel in their field thus producing competent experts. For instance, a cousin of mine was forced to enrol in an electronics engineering course, today works for a small company earning a meagre salary. Conversely, If students are forced to pursue a particular subject by the university, they may not pour in much effort and become an expert in the subject. To conclude, although it is important for universities to supply competent professionals in the fields that might be useful in the future, In my opinion, it should be the choice of a student to pursue his passion considering that it helps to generate expert workers.