Do young people today make good use of their leisure time? Or do they spend too much time watching TV and playing video games, instead of taking part in more productive activities?

Nowadays there are a lot of kinds of activities, which are used by young people in their life. There is opinion that children are good at spending their leisure time, whereas it is argued by others that children spend too much time watching TV and playing video games and they should use this time more reasonably. In my opinion, it is a huge modern problem that children are sometimes addicted to TV and games and it is parents’ responsibility to encourage their kids to spend their leisure time properly. First of all, currently, it is not argued that children can spend all day in front of a TV or computer without limitation, because it is interesting for them. As a consequence, they become lazy and stop doing other creative things. For example, my son, who is 7 years old, can watch animation movies for several hours, if I do not stop him. After long time watching TV, he cannot do homework or walk, because he doesn’t feel well and has a bad mood. Second of all, if children are offered to watch TV and play games or do some activities, they definitely will choose the first offer. This is why, it is easy for them, it does not require a lot of efforts. For example, you have to spend a lot of energy doing some exercises, you should spend boring time with books and notebooks doing homework, but young people usually do not enjoy making extra efforts, as recent research has shown us. In addition, the majority of children cannot make good use of their leisure time, therefore their parents are supposed to limit time, which children spend with TV and PC. At this time there are a lot of extra classes for children, such as painting, Lego programming, singing, team sports classes. Young people have opportunities to choose the most preferable activity which they want to learn. Moreover, without help of adults they cannot do it. In conclusion, for a modern generation it is difficult to choose the right way of spending leisure time, so they spent too much time playing games and watching TV. Therefore, parents have to play the main role in their children `s choice and encourage them to do more productive activities.