In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

When given the choice of which subject they want to learn, girls commonly enrol in arts classes while boys attend science courses. This essay will discuss about why does it come to this common trend followed by some abilities that can be made to change. There are two dominant factors contributing to this tendency. Firstly, the choice of subject reflects gender -specific characteristics, which renders a gender more attracted to a certain major rather than another. The portrayal of women, for example, is that they are usually better at expressing themselves and appreciating the aesthetic qualities of works of art, so they are apt to make the grade as arts students. On the other hand, males are generally regarded as more logical, which enables them to have a better grasp of analytical subjects such as maths or physics. Additionally, this trend may stem from students being bombarded with the traditional perception that a gender can only excel at certain subjects and not others. For example, male students often hesitate to follow literature, as they think that literary appreciation would be out of their depth and they fear falling behind with their studies. In my view, this tendency needs immediate alteration. Traditionalists insist that students should specialise in a field compatible with their gender -specific personalities in order to be a high-flyer during their time when they are in tertiary education and in their future career. However, it is crucial for students to be at liberty to choose what subject they wish to pursue, even subjects once labelled unfit for their gender identity. This would dispel the misconception that the sciences is meant for boys while the arts is for girls and eventually eradicate sexual discrimination within a major as well as enable students to find their true passion. In conclusion, I am persuaded that natural preferences and social stereotypes about each gender affect students’ subject choice, and that it is vital to shift this trend so that all students are entitled to the freedom to study those courses to which they aspire.