Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by some people that mathematics and philosophy should not be mandatory, but optional for pupils who struggle with these subjects. I totally disagree with this view because mathematics develops children ’s analytical skills and philosophy extends their creative capacity. This essay will show several reasons supported be the relevant examples and give a conclusion. To begin with, although many children find maths difficult, it is impossible to underestimate the huge benefits it brings to learners. Firstly, mathematical disciplines has a positive impact on scholars’ cognitive system. For instance, scientific research show that pupils who have studied math in secondary school not only demonstrate a higher level of analytical thinking compared to those who have not had maths in their curriculum, but also show a higher level of academic achievements in further education whether in college or at university. Secondly, mathematical skills are highly important in daily life. They make people capable to solve basic arithmetic tasks such sums and checking a bill after buying something in the mall, organizing their family budget or even measuring the right proportion of ingredients while cooking. Moreover, philosophy plays a crucial role in the development of creative capacity. Firstly, this subject helps children to think critically. For example, learning a wide range of opinions, views and ideas of great minds such as Kant, Darwin and Einstein develops critical thinking, which helps everyone to weigh pros and cons in order to make the right decision. Secondly, as our mentality is to some extent based on the ideas reflected in the philosophy course, learning this subject influences people not only to become more aware of human nature but also to become better communicators. To sum up, some people think that due to the fact that some children consider mathematics and philosophy as tough subjects, it is better to study them optionaly optional. However I completely disagree with this view and believe that mathematics and philosophy must be taught in a school as mandatory subjects because they help children to develop analytical thinking, creative capacity, do basic calculations and to understand the world better.