Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Discuss the problems and suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

With the advent of urbanization and the rise in sophisticated modern technologies, many metropolitan cities around the world are struggling to deal with traffic congestion issue. In this essay, I shall outline the primary cause and suggest some solution for this overgrowing problem. To begin with, the significant reason behind the rapid expansion of traffic blockage is the rise in the economic standards of the society. Nowadays, due to the various financial benefits provided by the banks, many people are able to afford the purchase of their private commute, irrespective of their social economic background. Owning to this, the number of cars running on the road has increased dramatically, which have further resulted in traffic obstruction in cities. For example, a recent study published in the Oxford University illustrated that, over past 52 years, the amount of private cars running on highways have escalated by 78% and the associated traffic obstructions have surged by 87%. Therefore, it is clear that the financial availability is the paramount cause of traffic jams. However, considering the solution, apart from encouraging people to use common transit, the government should invest greater financial funds in improving the facilities and the services provided by the public transportation. Further to this, the people should use various other environmentally friendly modes of transportation such as bicycles, which will not only help them to stay active, but are also easily manageable on the roads. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, it is apparent that overcrowding of vehicles on the roadways is a matter of concern. Nevertheless, various solutions exist to mitigate this issue, but a definite solution has yet to be found.