As global trade increases between different countries, many daily necessities are produced in other countries. Such goods are usually transported a long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

It is true that due to globalization, it is possible to trade many necessary things from one country to another country. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend, such as the local market remain competitive and easy availability of goods for foreigners in a foreign country that outweigh its disadvantages. Admittedly, the main drawback to importing the basic goods from one place to another is that an importer may suffer heavy loss. To elucidate, an easy availability of necessary goods, such as food and fruits are imported, through ships or airways, because of good quality and cheap price. Therefore, if any, delay in the transportation to the importer’s destination, these basic goods will spoil easily as many chemicals and preservatives are used to it. This might result in the heavy loss to the importer. Despite the aforementioned disadvantages, I believe that such transportation of necessary goods over a long distance is more beneficial to the importer’s country. Firstly, the native market will remain competitive as a wider range of goods available to choose from. This will allow the local manufacturers’ to produce the goods of the same quality and try to match the price of the imported, which brings healthy competition in the market. Secondly, this availability of necessary goods allows foreigners to migrate easily to another country for having better job prospects. For example, many Indians can migrate easily for jobs or studies to Canada, because these days the essential goods that require to Indians are available there in many supermarkets. This enables them to migrate without worry. In conclusion, even though there are many downsides to transporting such basic goods like the heavy loss to an importer, I think that the positives of having healthy competition in the local market and giving the chance to the resident of another country to migrate for further studies or jobs as their necessity goods are easily available there.