Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a huge concern about the environment as people have started realising that plastic waste have a negative impact. Some people think that it is the duty of producers and suppliers to reduce product packaging, while others believe that the obligation lies with consumers. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument before a conclusion is reached. To begin with, it is evident that supermarkets and manufacturers are the prime producers and promoters of the consumer goods; therefore they are the roots of this problem and governments across the world should strictly impose regulations on companies owner, so that they can decrease the amount of packaging. For example, plastic milk bottles If makers made them thinner or even replaced them with carton bottles, they would have a tremendous impact on the amount of plastic consumed. Thus, the argument that supermarkets should take the responsibility to reduce over packaging certainly makes sense. However, satisfying people’s demand is the main job of the manufacturer. This means that the more people continue to purchase packaged products, the more they are produced. By contract, if people decided to cut their consumption of such products, there would be a definite reduction in their production. For instance, two years ago the government in the UK imposed a price on plastic bags in large supermarkets. This action decreased their consumption as well as production. Thus, it is clear that consumers have a key role to play in tackling this issue. To sum up, I believe that collaborative efforts should be taken by both the manufacturers and the consumers in order to reduce pollution caused by excessive packaging.