It is not wise for an industry to replace its experienced but old workers with new and young yet inexperienced individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With technology innovation and automation in various sectors, organisations are left with no alternative but to replace experienced employees with fresh graduates. However, many argue that the employer should enhance skills of present staff, rather than laying off. Therefore, In my opinion, Industries should not replace qualified by inexperienced workers.  On one hand, every job requires desired skill and qualification. Because, most of the experienced employees have spent a good number of hours in learning and development of products, thus, they better understand the pros and cons of the job. Whereas, in some cases, an employee needs to upgrade his knowledge, I.e., learning new software or new machinery manuals. For instance, in my organisation, the account team was sent on a four week training program to learn SAP in order to work swiftly. Thus, our company did not hire new people but trained the existing ones. On the other hand, recruiting inexperienced individuals over current workforce, not only impacts financially but affects employee productivity. By appointment of new staff over experienced staff, the sense of job security rises within the company, which can result in poor employee performance and low morale. Moreover, the companies who replace its staff often tend to spend more rehiring new employees and are time consuming. Therefore, younger employees are no bargain, when it comes to replacing existing. In conclusion, I feel, the organisations should focus more on building employee skills. Firstly, they are easy to train and, Secondly, they know their job well and understand the company’s culture well. Whereas, young and fresh graduates, costs more to the company and affects employee morale.