Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that youngsters ought to utilise their spare time mingling in team activities, while others maintain that they should learn how to make the best of their free time independently. In my opinion, it is essential for a child to be able to tackle either approach appropriately. To begin with, independence and creativity are usually the result of a focused youngster as there are no distractions that can be of hindrance to the desired goal. For instance, many children admit that when working alone on an activity, such as solving a puzzle or Lego building, they tend to produce efficient and quicker results largely due to the fact that not all squad members may share the same aptitude for a certain exercise. Consequently, such children develop into more focused and self-determined adults. On the other hand, an increased independence deprives a child of the benefits that teamwork has to offer, namely increased tolerance, acceptance, enhanced social skills and at times long lasting friendships. To illustrate, the majority of schools conduct student organized ethnic fare celebrations, encouraging children to be involved and work together in setting up the event. As a result, students learn that despite the differences in opinions, they can work together towards a successful outcome. Finally, in my opinion, although youngsters should be able to interact in a group and reap the benefits of squad spirit and cooperation, if necessary, they ought to be able to keep themselves busy on their own. Take for example the recent Covid-19 outbreak and global quarantine, where team participation was not an option and children had to find ways to keep themselves busy; thus, not being dependent at all times on others for leisure has its own merits. In conclusion, even though children learning to occupy themselves lead to self-reliance, they would lack essential social skills amongst many advantages of team activities. Hence, I believe a healthy child ought to be flexible and alternate between two approaches.