In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages ?

Industries and businesses in some developed and developing countries are encouraged by governments to move in the rural areas from metropolitan cities. While there are benefits to it, there are some disadvantages operating them outside cities, as this essay will demonstrate. The main disadvantage is, as cities are getting densely populated with no cleaner air to breathe, the best solution is to move some industries, and business in regional areas having less pollution. Moving to an area with low demand may be unprofitable as skilled resources may be unavailable. Also, dealing with providers, clients and other contacts may not be beneficial as customer base is located in the city. Apart from this, infrastructure can be less developed, that will be problematic for businesses. Moreover, public transportation could be poor outside the city, and workers have to relive on their own transportation. For example, Bombay is overcrowded with many companies, and many companies do not want to move away from here because everything is so readily available. On the other hand, the main advantage of this is, with no space available for expansion of businesses and growth of industries in urban areas, the suburbs around cities are more likely to get developed. Because more land is available at a cheaper rate in the cities, the business could be expanded. Also, workers are available at less salary and it can be profitable for business and since more jobs are available, locals can benefit from it. In addition to this, employees are distressed unlike longer commutes to cities and they get a healthier environment to live in due to less pollution, and no traffic congestion. This results in, cities getting less populated, and results in the development of rural areas. In conclusion, with the above in mind, it is clear that running businesses and industries in cities or outside cities, both have positive and negative aspects, however, in the long term, running businesses outside the city would have possibly greater advantages.