Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, traffic congestion has become one of the major problems in the cosmopolitan life. Because of heavy traffic, pollution is rising rapidly, especially air, which is getting contaminated with carbon monoxide, which creates many health issues. In my view, there are a plethora of cogent and compelling arguments to buttress the statement that raising the petrol price will be helpful to reduce the increasing influx and pollution. However, there are other measures to be taken, which will also benefit the process. If the petrol cost is increased, there will be a chain effect, which will lead to reduce the traffic; eventually, pollution will be reduced as well. For instance, with the increasing fuel price, fewer people will be able to afford to drive; thus, there will be less transportation movement; hence, pollution will begin to fall. Therefore, I agree with the idea that the fuel bill shall be uplifted. Besides, a few extra measurements could be taken to minimize pollution, which will be highlighted in the next paragraph. One step could be imposing restrictions on buying a new ride. People should be discouraged from purchasing a new car without permission from the authority. For example, the government can introduce an act that says an individual must abandon the old vehicle before buying a new one. By this act, the government can control the number of traffic, which will be helpful to reduce congestion. Another step could be encouraging people to use public transportation instead of a private one. For instance, the transport authority can give a transport pass with a discounted cost to motivate the community to use the public transport facility. Consequently, there will be fewer vehicles on the highways, which will eventually be a key to reduce traffic and pollution. In conclusion, people’s perspectives might be different; I believe that strategy of increasing fuel prices will work smoothly. Similarly, imposing restrictions on buying a new car and promoting public transportation will add extra effort to the battle of pollution reduction.