Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a section of people who think that it is the responsibility of individuals to spend on their health and education, while I would argue that governments should provide these services free of cost to their citizens. Those who believe that the citizens should pay for health care and study might argue that providing these facilities without charging anything would overburden the government's resources. The reason is that the authorities have the responsibilities to ensure other necessities to the public such as food, drinking water and electricity. If they start paying for medical and education too, then they would need to reduce the budget of those essentials, and this would eventually impact the poor sections of the society who could not afford even the minimum needs and thus they might push towards starvation. However, I would say that health and education are the keys to human development, and it should be the government's responsibility to furnish it. Thus, the nations who spend a wise amount in ensuring these amenities are prosperous on this date. For instance, Norway spends 8.8% of its GDP on its educational sector, which has positively impacted its economic development and make it one of the wealthiest countries in the world. If the countries do not finance these services, then it would be difficult for the weaker class to afford it, which could halt their progress. In conclusion, although the government is already spending on other important necessities and expenditure on healthcare and learning sector could overwhelm the system, they are accountable to their natives. I believe that they should reduce other non-essential expenses and spend it on providing these amenities to the public.