Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

It is believed by a lot of people that the main aim of every country is to be able to produce more materials and goods. This is either for consumption or exportation. I wholly agree with this chain of thought as a nation that is viewed as a producer is more economically stable than those who are consumers. This will be explained in the coming paragraphs.  To start with, countries who produce their consumables rely less on the outside world for sustenance as they use their own locally made products for their day to day activities. This does not only help its citizens who purchase goods at a stable price, but also, would help the government; who would be able to generate internal funds to run the economy. Besides, unemployment would be at a low because there would be open job opportunities. Furthermore, a nation that produces more goods and materials has a surplus of product available for export to countries that need such items. This is an additional source of revenue for a lot of developing nations and these goods can be used to exchange for other valuable materials that are not locally available. This gives such a country good bargaining power which is required to be a world superpower. To conclude, the increased production of goods and materials is assumed by many to be the ambition of many nations and I strongly agree with this.