Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The process of landing a job, is getting more complex every day. At the viewpoint, of some people, getting a degree is the most convenient way to be hired, while others think experience and personal skills are the keys to being employed. In my view, both of the above methods can assist in earning livelihood, depending on the profession. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument, while providing a logical conclusion. On one side, there are people who think being a university graduate can increase their chances of being hired. This thought of school is supported by the fact that, gaining tertiary education can put a person at benefit, compared to the other applicants. The surge in college and university applications, in the recent years can emphasize the importance of the studies, for future employment openings. On the other hand, there are some sectors where experience as well as interpersonal skills gives more importance in the hiring process. To cite an example, higher positions in the field of business management, require the applicant to have a strong work history and communication skills. This is because, these employees have to deal with people from around the world and hence, practical knowledge increases their chances of succeeding in the company. Finally, in my opinion, the major factors that improve the chances of landing the position depends on the type of profession. For instance, doctors or lawyers cannot practice their profession without their licenses while salesperson cannot progress without experience. To conclude, getting a good position requires either education or employment history in the relevant field, depending upon the sector. Hence, people should gain the required skills or degrees, before applying for jobs, in order to be hired.