Some parents are worried about the increasing level of violence on TV, video games and other types of entertainment for children’s leisure. How does this affect children? How do you think the problem can be tackled?

It is considered by some parents that watching violent acts on television, video games, or other sources of entertainment whilst their free time is worrying. It has an everlasting impression on a child’s mind, depending upon their ages, as younger children get scared while older ones think that it is normal to be violent. Depending upon the ages of the children, it can have detrimental effects on them. Firstly, the younger children, are in the learning stages of their lives and take everything seriously, sometimes watching violence on the television, which is depicted through movies and video games leaves a bad impression on their mind. For instance, a young child watching a superhero movie always gets fascinated with the hero’s character and wants to imitate it, but has a bad impression about the villain, thus an image is created in his mind and is scared of it, and hence violence can also leave an impression on them. However, older children think that it is ok to be violent sometimes. One of the best ways to tackle the problems of violence is through parental guidance. Strict parental guidance is required while watching a movie or video games. In other words, the parents have to get involved in their child’s activities, even when they are watching any source of entertainment, this can be done by going through the content first and know about the ongoing program of TV in which their child is interested in. Furthermore, explaining the scenarios ant context that why the act was shown in the particular part of the movie so that the children don’t get scared or take it casually that it is ok to be violent. In conclusion, parental guidance and strict rules are very important to protect children from ongoing violence which is depicted by television shows, internet, or video games.