In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, in stead of in large, extended family group. Is is a positive or negative trend.

These days, urban residents tend to live in small families, or alone, while people used to live in large groups many years ago. The development brings both advantages and disadvantages to modern society. On the one hand, living in nuclear families is very helpful for people to be taken care effectively. This is because living expenses are not too high. For instance, it may cost a nuclear family about 200 USD every month for monthly expenditure, but the figure can reach 400 USD in an extended family with three generations. Therefore, family members can afford health care services, or other social needs more productively. Moreover, in small groups, children can be educated, better than those in large families. This is because parents would have more time to spend on their children. If they live with grandparents, they have to take care of the older generation first, and children come second. This leads to lack of time to educate children. On the other hand, living alone or in a small group can bring some backwards to children and parents. Commonly, grandparents can support to take care of their grandchild, while parents have to work to earn money. Therefore, they do not need to employ a baby sister to take responsibility for their kids. For example, in small families, both father and mother have to work from nine to five, they have to pay 300 USD per month for baby sister services. Even though they understand that some baby sisters do not look after their children as well as they expect. Regarding living alone, it is very dangerous in emergent situations. For example, when they get sick, no one can help them. To conclude, the trend of living in small families or alone brings pros and cons to urban citizens. As far as I am concerned, urban citizens can live in small families, but they should not live alone.