Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is believed in certain companies that employees should care more about how they dress to work, while other companies appreciate the quality of work an employee has to offer. In my opinion, our appearances matter depending on the job acquired, however, is more important that a company focuses in delivering great services. Appearances are usually considered in jobs that require employees to interact constantly with clients, for example, marketing, human resources or trade. The reason this is important is because outfits work as an expression of personality, and allow employees to have a sense of empowerment. Some employees believe that wearing a suit is like an armor that makes them invincible. Besides, looking presentable gives clients the illusion that an employee is organized and responsible. By contrast, a good quality service helps a company grow. When appearances are not taken into consideration, customers see an employee as a human being, not as a service. This creates a sense of comfort, which helps companies develop better and stronger relationships with its clients. Therefore, customers are more willing to remain loyal to one company. From my experience, I believe both are important. When I am dressed appropriately to an occasion, for example a meeting, I have noticed that my colleagues tend to focus more on what I am trying to communicate. This means that people might be taken more seriously depending on what they are wearing. However, quality should always be of significant importance, because at the end of the day a company is selling a product or service, not a style. In conclusion, companies should strive for a balance between appearances and quality, but the latter should be emphasized more for the future development of a company.