In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many families have a dual sources of income. In most homes, both husband and wife, have to earn in order to make ends meet. However, some people have argued, that this will be of benefit to the children, while others believe that the children will be affected majorly, as they may lack parental support. In fact, I agree with the former. This essay will discuss both points of view. To begin, children will gain much when both parents are income earners for a number of reasons. Firstly, additional income will amount to a better standard of living. For instance, children whose parents are high income earners often attend the best schools. They also have access to a lot of educational devices which can boost their learning. Another advantage of double income, is the fact that, children from such homes can be able to afford things they need. People who believe that the children are affected most, have conceived this idea as a result of various reasons. One of such, is the fact that, most parents are not usually available to their offsprings. In addition, the busy lifestyle at work contributes to emotional detachment in most families. To illustrate, most jobs require its staff to work from 9am till 5pm. Many parents do not get home until the later part of the night. Hence, they have little or no time for their children. In conclusion, this essay has examined both sides of the argument. Finding a work-life balance is essential in alleviating the harmful effects of dual income sources on the children.