Schools should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that schools should remove non-academic subjects such as music and sports from (the educational/ its) syllabus so that students will focus on academic fields which are helpful for their professions. While it is true that intellectual subjects are important, I do not believe that fully concentrating on teaching academic subjects at school is a good idea. Firstly, from the health point of view, non-academic activities are helpful not only for students ’ physical health but also their mental health. For instance, after studying and sitting in compulsory classes for the whole morning, it is better for students to do some outdoor or art activities such as dancing, playing basketball to get rid of stress. As a result, their learning ability and concentration in the afternoon will be improved. Focusing only on the academic area is not only harmful to student’s health but also makes their capability decrease. Secondly, not all of students need to be excellent at academic subjects to achieve success in their future career. For example, there is no point getting A grades unnecessarily in science-related subjects if a person wants to become a singer or a footballer. By encouraging students to engage in extra-curricular activities, schools can bring out their hidden talents in other fields. This will help not only the students but also the society since that creates the diversity of occupation and enhances the division of labour. In conclusion, I disagree the argument that focusing only on academic subjects is more helpful than non-academic fields for students in developing their future careers.