Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that only the authority has enough power to tackle the environmental issues that have posed an immense potential threat to our planet. Nevertheless, from my point of view, conserving the environment is the obligation of both citizens and the government. On the one hand, it is obvious that there are serious problems that only the government can effectively deal with, such as global warming, extreme weather conditions or violent storms. Large-scale and in depth research as well as advanced technological techniques require a sheer amount of money, considerable effort and the cooperation of politicians and large organizations. Furthermore, the authority is able to impose strict policy on environmental preservation. For example, harsh punishment such as monetary fine, jail or even execution will refrain people from violating the law. On the other hand, people also play an overwhelmingly significant part of the practical solutions to environmental destruction. Using energy-efficient household items and planting more trees are outstanding methods not only saving the natural resources, but also effectively reducing catastrophic emissions in our daily lives. Moreover, politicians would not able to completely protect the environment without the help of individuals. For instance, should the villagers dump rubbish into the rivers despite the law, the water pollution will never disappear. In conclusion, both the government and citizens are responsible for desisting environmental damages. In the future, I believe that extreme measures consisting of the new policy, research and renewable energy will be taken to protect the environment.