Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

The contribution of women from arts to science is remarkable. Still, there is one sector where women hold just one forth of the positions and, that is the Tech sector. Many feel long working hours and gender pay-gap are the main culprits. But there is a solution to every problem and tech companies should be more open minded and flexible towards women's participation in the technological sector. There is no doubt that women tend to be better off, when it comes to managing work and personal life. And, one of the major reasons for less women entering in tech jobs is because of the poor work life balance. As many technical positions require long working hours and even working at client sites. In countries like India, women are compelled to either look for a lower salary job or get married. Thus, employers prefer male professionals despite plenty of well deserving women in the market. But there is still a glimmer of hope and things are improving rapidly. Many companies have started flexible working hours along with work from home options. This trend has allowed women to continue their working even after marriage. For instance, women can now work from home and can manage their families and kids, without leaving the premises. This trend has just brought women back into the tech scene and created a pool of independent women. This essay discussed the reason why only 20 percent of women join tech jobs because of family and work life balance issues. In addition, this discussed the solution of implementing new work policies and allowing women to work remotely, and can bring back women into tech roles again.