Many people have job that involve working shifts (working at night). What are some of the problems that shift workers might face? What can be done to solve them?

There are many people who are doing night shifts. This essay will address problems like health hazards and disruption in family and social life, and also proposes effective solutions like rotating rosters and family support. To commence with, working on nights has a direct effect on sleep. If a sleeping hour of a staff is reduced every day, he will be a victim of various diseases like anxiety, depression and mental health issue. For example, according The University of England, 55% of employer who works night time is having the problem of anxiety. Likewise, working as a third shift will have a negative influence in the family and social relationship. That is to say, working lately, does not give enough time to the partner and children, which results in family dysfunction. Additionally, the involvement in social activities will also be reduced, which results in social marginalisation. On the other hand, the first solution for such problem can be a rotating roster among the workers. Despite of a single person working the same night duty every week, if there is a rotating schedule, they can rest and the chance of suffering from various diseases is minimized. For instance, the WHO published a report in January 2020, that staff working in a swing shift is healthier than those who are working the same roster every day. Secondly, a full support of the family can make the night roster effective. If they are on the ball and maintains a peaceful environment at home so that the person working late shifts can take a rest, it won’t be hard working lately. In conclusion, doing graveyard shift can create various problems like health issues and disruption in family and social life; however rotating work schedule and support of family can help to minimize this issue.