Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects like philosophy and history, and only practical degree courses that maximize chance of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Acquiring university education is an expensive business nowadays. It has led many to believe that universities should not offer arts programmes to the students because of the scarcity of jobs in these fields. The emphasis should rather be laid upon teaching the practical subjects that help in finding an easy employment. I disagree with this statement. However, there are various reasons that make this argument beyond the acceptable. One of the most important reasons is the interest of a pupil. In other words, how can a student who is aspiring to be an artist in his future, made to learn any other science subject like the engineering. By doing this, the student will only half-heartedly apply himself in this field but will also end up as a bad professional. This signifies that the interest of the student should be the foremost factor in deciding what to study in the future rather than the employment. Another reason for universities to continue their arts programmes likes philosophy and history is that although the employment options are squeezing for these professionals, they have not reached to the point that warrants the abolishment of these subjects. For example, the number of admissions in arts subjects can be used as a reliable indicator to ascertain the popularity of these subjects amongst the students as well as their value in the job market. Furthermore, a few arts subjects, like the generalism applying to all or most members of a category or group generals, are very popular in the developing countries like Pakistan. The reporters working for news channels and newspapers are making huge money and in fact are playing a role of the ideal professional for many youngsters. To conclude, nevertheless, there are relatively more jobs for technocrats and skilful people in the market, but from my perspective, studying these technical subjects should not be at the cost of arts. It is therefore suggested that the decision whether to study art or practical subjects should rely on the interest of the student. Moreover, there is still enough room for these professionals in the job market.