Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy, and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sky soaring university fees and decreasing employment opportunities have led certain people to say that only practical courses such as medicine, engineering and architect should be offered by educational institutes, as they increase the pupil's chances of landing a job, while others are of diverse opinion. However, in my view, artistic subjects are equally important for the overall development of the mankind and hence, universities should provide them for students who are interested in pursuing them. Several arguments that augment my standing, are discussed in this essay. Firstly, it is baseless to believe that art graduates do not have any chances of landing high paying jobs. Numerous jobs in this sector, such as newspaper editors, journalists, multimedia designers, interior designers, lecturers and museum co-ordinators are paid in thousands monthly. Additionally, nowadays, several big organizations like google and apple are hiring graduates from art field, as they are often very creative and possess unique ideas, which allows their companies, to present the human civilization with freshest products and concepts. To cite an example, the recent employment report of google indicated that, 50% of their employees held certificates in varied artistic subjects and not in IT or management. Secondly, the nation might lose its culture and heritage, if no learners choose to pursue the studies, that fall under the category of arts. This category produces the artists, singers, painters and historians. These professionals work towards betterment of the society and maintaining the ethnicity of any region through their works. For instance, in recent years, the number of dancers has united in India, to save its traditional dance form Kathakali, which would now have been extinct. Thus, it is important that colleges offer these study options, for the sake of preserving the authenticity. To conclude, even though degrees in the field of science and commerce, maximize the likelihood of getting jobs, the thought that art students, are generally paid low or are unemployed is ridiculous. Also, it is needed to uphold the cultural value of any city, which makes professionals in this sector inevitably important.