Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. What is your view on this

There are quite a few people who believe that promotion to higher positions has to be offered only to those who has served the company for a longer duration. However, I disagree with that, since I believe the goal driven and skilled ones are those deserving a rise in their designations. To begin with, a team can be well managed by a skilled person and one can improve themselves only by acquiring experiences. To cite an example, someone who has worked with multiple companies would be more skilful than the one who has been serving in just a single firm. By giving such experienced people an appraisal would be a profit to the establishment as they would be able to put into practice the lessons they learnt from the past. However, a staff who has been just exposed to a single organisation has very limited knowledge. In addition to it, most of the employees who had worked in multiple institutions tend to be more proactive. Because they are more driven to reaching their goals, such staffs would be an asset to the organisation. Furthermore, encouraging them by giving them top positions would definitely take the company to higher heights. To conclude, some people think that only employees who has worked in the same organisation needs to get promoted to high positions. However, I believe the more discerning ones are those who are effective and proactive in the work they are doing even if they have not completed long years in the firm.