Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passsenegr flights, ofte to holiday destinations. some people say that the governmanet should try to reduce the air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

The growing prevalence of air travelling is contributing to environmental pollution worldwide besides the construction of new airports. Low air fares to the tourist areas is thought to be amongst the leading causes of this phenomenon that has led many to urge for heavy levies on such travelling. In my opinion, this suggestion is flawed and I believe that there are other ways that can be more promising to reduce atmospheric pollution. Tourism and other holiday attractions are few of those joys that are already getting scanty because of the time pressures. Since people seldom get a vacation these days, above that planning a holiday trip in these vacations is even uncommon. Asking government to apply heavy taxation on air fares will further prevent people from travelling. This will not only result in the dooming tourism-based economies, but will also leave people with little entertainment facilities. Moreover, although this taxation may have some impact in reducing the air and noise pollution, it seems limited and there are far more effective ways of controlling the air pollution. Switching over the vehicles that use fossil fuels to the newer electric cars that have zero emission of harmful gases as well as noise pollution would probably be a better solution than limiting the air travelling. In other words, the collective pollution caused by vehicles on the roads is much more in comparison to that of planes, thus banning those vehicles which are run on fossil fuels would be much more effective. For example, Pakistan's average requirement for G10 fuel used in planes is about one-tenth of that of gasoline being used in cars and other transport. Hence it bolsters the view that cutting fossil fuel consuming cars is more effective than abolishing air travel. To conclude, hiking air fares due to heavy taxation will abandon people from travelling besides adding little towards the atmospheric protection. Hence it is suggested that measures like introducing electronic cars and preventing deforestation are more fruitful in combating air pollution.