NOWADAYS, MANY PEOPLE CHOOSE AIRPLANE AS THEIR MEANS OF TRANSPORT TO TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD. SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THIS IS THE MOST CONVENIENT METHOD OF TRAVEL,WHILE OTHERS ARGUE THAT TRAVELLING BY AIR UNSAFE AND COSTLY. DISCUSS THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF TRAVELLING BY AIR AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Since the Wright Brothers invented the first successful airplane, the aviation has had a dramatic development. These days, a number of passengers choose airplanes instead of other modes of transportation when they go for business or holidays. However, there are also drawbacks of air transportation system. This essay will present both some merits and downsides of this trend.  There are many advantages of air travel. Firstly, the biggest advantage of flying is that it is often the fastest way to get from one place to another, especially long distance. Therefore, people prefer going by plane because they can save their time. In the past, people could only use ships, trains or cars to commute between locations. If a person travelled from Asia to England, it would take him months to get to the place he wanted Currently, with airplanes, travelers can go across continents within twenty hours or fewer. Secondly, most comfortable airline seats make people satisfied. Whenever they can read magazines or books, listen to music and play games or watch entertainment on TV, all are available onboard a plane, which makes their flights seem shorter. However, air travel also has some disadvantages. First of all, air travel is a major cause of air pollution. In fact, the number of flights has increased dramatically over the last thirsty years. Consequently, pollution from air travel contributes significantly to climate change. On the other hand, flight delays or cancellations can be horrible to passengers, especially if they miss connecting flights. Moreover, flying is the most expensive form of transportation particularly, if air tickets are not booked in advance.  In conclusion, I believe that although there are both pros and cons of travelling by airlines, people should choose the suitable means. In my opinion, the benefits of travelling by airplane still outweigh the drawbacks.