SOME PEOPLE GET INTO DEBT BY BUYING THINGS THEY DO NOT NEED AND CANNOT AFFORD. WHAT ARE SOME REASONS FOR THIS BEHAVIOUR? WHAT ACTION CAN BE TAKEN TO PREVENT PEOPLE FROM HAVING THIS PROBLEM?

Many people these days get into severe debt because of engaging in shopping for objects they do not need and certainly cannot even pay for. In this essay, I will discuss some psychological and social reasons for this Shopaholic behaviour and some tools that could help people with this disorder. The main causes of this behaviour are usually mental health problems, such as depression, obsessive-compulsive disorders, addictive personalities, and so on. People who struggle with this, have lost their goals in life and try to fill those gaps with objects. Another reason is to show off to others just to keep appearances. Meanwhile, they are actually full of debts and loans, poor people, for instance, tend to acquire, at any cost, the lastly released cell phone just to look rich. There are some social measures that can be taken to prevent people from this misbehaviour. Increasing volunteer work and charity activities can make life meaningful again. Namely, more group activities for teenagers and adults with this problem could be added to community centres. Sports centres are, in addition, a great strategy to make people happier and fitter as well, keeping the mind and the body busy and far from malls and shopping call-centres. In conclusion, in spite there is an increasing trend of buying nonsense objects, nowadays a lot of information is available and more investigation is being done in regard to this subject. Therefore, healthcare professionals and politics can work together in order to help people improve this condition. Increasing group activities and sports in community centres would be an effective and convenient solution.