Thanks to the development of technology, many employers are now offering the employees the option to work from home. Is this a positive or negative development. Give reasons for your answer and give relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Technology has made life and work easier compared to olden days. One of the positive effects of technology is the ease with which people are allowed to work. Clearly, it is a result of the evolution in the internet and the computers. Keeping that in mind, I would like to discuss about the pros of working from home as an option for employees. To begin with employers giving work from home proclivity is widely becoming popular these days because some tasks need not require the employee to be present physically at the company. Consequently saving travel time and expenses and the liberty of working in a comfortable environment. The mode of working is most useful for parents who have younger kids to take care of. For example, I have seen both working parents taking turns to spend more time with them rather than they becoming dependent on day cares. Therefore, work from home brings families together. Furthermore, for working mothers who are joining back to enterprise after a maternity leave have the choice of keeping their employment. For instance, there are a huge number of mothers returning to work after pregnancy as a result of working from home opportunities made available. Work from home has given people with disability to work at the ease of their home where travelling has become difficult for them. So it has also clear that people at the disadvantaged end has positive effects due to the opportunity. In conclusion, work from home has so many positive effects on the working society as a whole with very little repercussions. With the advancement in technology, it is definite that employers will give more employees the privileges with working from home as an option. Hence, it will be a more common scenario in the near future.