Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Genes HEREDITY plays a vital role in the physical appearance of an individual. However, the viewpoint of inheritance towards behavioural resemblance does not hold any stand. Therefore, I completely disagree with the given statement. This essay will explain that personality traits are not solely defined by genes. To begin with, human beings / mankind is inevitably exposed to the influence of the environment and surroundings where they live, which results in enhancing the social environment//scenario//situation// resulting in shaping moral and ethical values in a person. Along with that, there are other shapers of personalities including culture and education. To elaborate, cultural values affect the way people behave under certain circumstances while educational knowledge acts as a foundation on which people build and develop their own sets of distinctive traits. For example, a person can overcome shyness and simple-mindedness, by living with high-interactive and well-educated community. Furthermore, effort is a great equalizer in intensifying//magnifying//strengthening personal qualities. People can change their thinking patterns and develop new behaviour if they assemble enough efforts. Adding to this, effective endeavours promotes //assists//aids self- discipline, communication, motivation, and focus which outcomes in elevating private elements. To exemplify, poor performers can insert sufficient efforts so as to avoid failure in future. To conclude, it is said that personality is a pre-existing feature, due to genes before birth, however, the environment and efforts play a crucial/ pivotal role in altering // modifying personal// individual characteristics.