Some people think the government should focus on improving the economy of the country. Other people think the government should focus on social services such as health and education programs. Which statement do you agree with? Explain and provide examples to support your opinion.

A significant faction of the society believes that the growing the economy of a nation is every government's priority task. However, I differ with this viewpoint and am of the opinion that a country is as competent as its people and policies. Just like a chain, which is as strong as its weakest link, I firmly agree that governments should emphasise on, and put in more efforts to phenomenally improve social services as the healthcare and education system. The predominant drawback of putting the entire impetus on bettering an economy is that it provides minimal or no benefits to the lower strata of the society. Furthermore, it is typically only the politically-linked business tycoons who are benefiting the most in such countries. It has been seen that many a policy decisions are made by a government, to improve the prospects of mostly the elite, or influential strata of its citizens. For example, countries like Russia and Brazil are considered to be run by the governments that are hand-in-glove with the business czars of those countries. On the one hand, while the governments are bringing in policy changes to improve the nation's business prospects. However, on the other hand, their citizens are participating in demonstrations and rallies that clearly depict the apathy shown by the government to them. In contrast, a government that proactively take steps to raise the quality of healthcare and education system of the nation, is duly rewarded with respect and admiration by its citizens. The countries whose focus is not only to raise the per capita GDP of a country, but to ensure a higher quality of life for its people, turns out to be a far better economy in the long run. A befitting example of the case is Singapore. Albeit, it is a small city-state island, that is just shy of 64 years of existence, their government has ensured that it is considered amongst the top names for better amenities in health and schooling for its citizens. This has led to a society which consists of educated minds taking the companies to even bigger economical heights. In addition, it also boasts of a culture where senior citizens, who worked hard during their younger days to make Singapore what it is today, are looked after with excellent health care facilities. To conclude, I completely agree with the viewpoint where public services of health and education are prioritised. With the help of the arguments shared above, it can be clearly seen that a growing economy is an aftereffect of having competent citizens whose government takes care of them in times of health related needs.