Many cities have serious problems with traffic congestion. What are the causes of these problems and what are some possible solutions?

The overcrowded roads have become a major issue in numerous places. The most common reason for this, is the increased usage of private vehicles, therefore, the government should bring some improvement in the public transport facility. This essay will discuss the root cause, and a possible remedy for the same. To start with, nowadays people living in big cities prefer to commute by their own conveyance. This is to say that, almost every adult family member owns a separate car to travel, resulting in severe traffic jams. For instance, according to a report by The Hindu newspaper published in 2015 in India, an average person living in Mumbai spends around 2 hours being stuck in the jam every day. This has happened due to the crowd created by numerous cars, thus require a check on their use. If transportation facilities are enhanced, then we can surely solve this problem. In other words, there are not sufficient and frequent bus services available in most of the places, around the world. Therefore, the public is forced to buy the individual vehicle to travel. However, by providing more public transport services, the Count of vehicles on the road can be minimised. To exemplify, with the introduction of the Metro trains in 2015 in India in four densely populated Metropolitan areas, a major decline of about 35% in the utilisation of personal conveyance was observed. Hence, the given solution can aid in controlling the severity of this issue. In conclusion, the increment in the use of separate cars has led to arduous clogging of roadways. Thus, by bringing a better transport system, the congestion can be reduced