Rates of diabetes and obesity are increasing in many countries around the world. Some people think that the government should ban soft drinks and sugary snacks from schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this proposal?

The proposition to tax foods containing sugar is generally viable. However, the countries that might implement this tax must consider the negative impacts on their food based economy. While childhood obesity is indeed a grave issue, the cultural and economic repercussions of such a decision must be taken into account. Imagine that this recommendation was put into effect. Low to medium income families, who have limited budgets for food, would have to consume products containing less sugar. These households would consume a larger proportion of whole foods, such as fruits and vegetables. Similarly, children might not be able to afford chocolate, candy and baked goods with their allowance. Ideally, a long term benefit of this proposal would be a drastic change in the eating habits of most families; children would not have easy access to sugary foods, thus breaking the cycle of dependence on sugar. On the other hand, the companies producing foods with sugar might suffer economically, which in turn affects the nation’s cultural influence. Many countries, including France, Belgium and Switzerland, benefit greatly from their flourishing sugar trade to appeal to their domestic and international clientele. Bakeries, confectioneries, cafes, and even supermarkets depend on the high demand for sugary foods. A decrease in demand might result in many workers losing their jobs. In conclusion, the countries must determine whether the health benefits to children outweigh the cultural and economic repercussions. If implemented, the nations would prioritise the future health of their children over their longstanding food culture.