Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries, shop and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Mobile phones have become an essential part of life. Although they are very useful, they could be quite an irritant in public places if they kept ringing. Much has changed in the recent past mobiles phones have turned into smart phones which means that they are not used only as phones anymore. They should not be banned in public places as they do not disturb others. In the past phones could not be customized to vibrate or be silent when there was a call. Nowadays, the general mindset of people and the government is to encourage the service of mobile phones everywhere including public places for various reasons. A mobile phone today is a bank, a camera, source of news, a mini computer and the main tool for communication. With a connectivity on the internet, mobile phones can perform everyday chores like shopping and sometimes even work is done after the call up. They connect to the internet through a Wi-Fi network. Wifi can be accessed from public places including libraries, transport, cafe’s and shops, the purpose of the Wifi is only to promote the usage of mobile phones in public places. If at all a mobile phone in a public area is a potential problem for any reason, then a sign or a public notice asking users to keep their phones in silent mode can be displayed. To summarize, banning or restricting the use of mobile phones is counterproductive and does not achieve any meaningful purpose. On the contrary, a place that restricts use of a mobile phone has few takers these days. The most important fact is that network through mobiles is as essential as air to breathe. Banning or restricting mobile phones must not even be considered since it does not harm anybody and there really is no valid reason to do restrict their use.