As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibility. Do you agree or disagree ?

Although some part of society believes that apart from getting richer, businesses hold social responsibilities, others strongly disagree. In my opinion, I think that huge firms are responsible for shaping social trends, and thus have a few of obligations toward whole community. The primary reason for my viewpoint is the fact, that big companies with a plethora of resources are morally obligated to serve a global society. Especially nowadays, when our population is tackling with various problems such as global warming and air pollution, those resources are so desperately needed, because without them people will never be able to overcome them. Following that, businesses should fund some scientific researches, whose aims are to fight solutions to most compelling issues. The best example of this sort of engagement is Google. This company is well - known for its help in order to fight with greenhouse gas emission by supporting developments of appliances, which are supposed to limit this problem. The fact that the biggest companies shape the behaviour of its customers is another reason which supports the thesis. It is commonly known, that public opinion is frequently influenced by trends, which those giant firms create. Therefore, it is crucial that those trends advertise positive behaviours instead of harming ones. A good example of this is showing tolerance by showing the images of employers from a various ethical backgrounds by well recognizable firms such as McKinsey&Company Once they have been seen, they could encourage individuals to be more tolerant. To conclude, while the opinions may vary, I believe that businesses play a huge role in shaping the public opinion's mind and thus have social both responsibilities and obligations