To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In general, it is a ubiquitous notion that the distinctive feature of modern society is tremendous diversity in any sphere of our life and culture area is not an exception As a matter of fact, nowadays it has become a possibility for some, even entirely mediocre, piece of art to be categorised as a "masterpiece", yet awe inspiring items remain in complete obscurity Basing on my personal knowledge and experience I would like to note that to some extend I agree with this statement, but at the same time I admit that the issue is quite controversial. In this essay there is an attempt to summarize the information and make a relevant conclusion basing on a row of powerfull arguments. First of all, the underlying determinant of the case when the popular figures are being glorified while other, more talented artists are discarded, is enormous impact of media and social networks on people's preferences. Much as we try to appreciate extraordinary creatures commonly admitted as "masterpieces" it is worth bearing in mind that today public relations, appearance and popularity seem to deflect our attention. Moreover, the God-gifted youngsters nowadays have no chance to be taught artworks in school because it considered to be extra-curricular activity. It is a commonly held belief that in the past, there was a bachelor’s course in the arts, but now the importance has been reduced very drastically. I have the examples in abundance when my talented aсquaintances had to give up art and landed into another career due to deprivation of encouragment. On the other hand, over the past century there has been a tremendous shifting of preferences, expectations and requirements towards the work of art. The wind of the change engulfed the whole society. In general, people derived more freedom in its various aspects such as freedom of expression and freedom of choice. In that sence, it goes without saying that people find adorable the fruits of the labour of the contemporary genius which seem quite ordinary from the common point of view. Furthemore, qiven the huge interest in pieces of art in famous museums, I dare to assume that their creations are still looked at with admiration and talent of genuine prodigies is mostly celebrated and revered postmortem. To sum up, with relevant arguments I would like to conclude that paintings, sculptures and other form of art labelled a "Work of art " had a uniqueness, which is completely lacking in present days. At the same time basing Change the form of the verb based show examples on evidences from the past when genius artists remained unrecognized I firmly believe that for future generations everything will fall in its place.